1. Home
  2. PDI
  3. Facilities
  4. Molecular Beam Epitaxy systems

Molecular Beam Epitaxy systems

The institute operates a total of thirteen Molecular Beam Epitaxy (MBE) reactors.

In order to avoid cross-contamination, each MBE reactor is dedicated to one material system. Some of our MBE reactors are connected to cluster systems. Most of our MBE systems are located in a 500 m² large clean room. In addition, one special MBE reactor is connected to our own beamline at the synchrotron BESSY II, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB), for the in-situ, real-time analysis of growth processes by x-ray diffraction (PHARAO facility).

  • MBE1: group-III nitrides
  • MBE2: group-III nitrides
  • MBE3: group-III arsenides
  • MBE4: group-III arsenides
  • MBE5: cluster for ferromagnetic metals, MgO, and group-III arsenides
  • MBE6: Ge-Sb-Te phase-change materials and Te-based 2D materials
  • MBE7: graphene and hexagonal BN
  • MBE8: semiconducting oxides
  • MBE9: group-III nitrides

Three special MBE reactors for in-situ X-ray diffraction:

  • PHARAO1: semiconducting oxides (connected to beamline)
  • PHARAO2: Ge-Sb-Te phase-change materials
  • PHARAO3: currently not in use